Saying Goodbye To My Friend

Me and Sam ❤

Last week I received a phone call that no one ever wants to get. It was news that my dear friend, Samantha, had passed away. I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t understand it. Why would God take such a beautiful, smart, amazing person? To be honest, I still can’t answer that question.

There has yet to be a night where she hasn’t appeared in my dreams. In these dreams, she is always smiling and laughing and we’re always having so much fun. That is exactly how I remember her, never without her big beautiful smile. I guess my subconscious is trying to hang on to those memories (like I could forget anyways…).

Although I’ll never understand why God took this young woman so soon, it has taught me some valuable life lessons.

Graduation Day

1) Live Everyday to its fullest – I know this sounds super cheesy, but I can’t help but think about it over and over again. You really never know how much time you have left in this life and every moment matters. Why spend your days miserable and unhappy when life could end tomorrow? That’s exactly what Sam was doing with her life; living her dream, helping others and being happy.

2) Friends and Family are everything – And I mean EVERYTHING.  After receiving the news, I instantly thought of all the people I love and cherish most in my life. It was really quite remarkable when I realized just exactly how many amazing people I have loving and supporting me. The day after Sam’s passing, we had a small get-together at my place and although we were all devastated, you couldn’t help but feel the love we all share. We all needed each other and we were all there for each other right away. I can’t put into words how grateful I am for all of you.

3) Make time for those you love – Again this sounds so simple and cheesy but it’s something we so easily take for granted. How many times have I rescheduled, bailed on plans, or just not made any plans to begin with? I realize now that I may not have tomorrow to see these people. No more excuses, no more laziness. I will make the phone calls, make the visits, and take the time to be with the ones I love. Relationships take effort and you always reap what you sow.

For all the tears I’ve shed over Sam’s passing, I know they could never amount to the number of hysterical laughs we shared. She had the most infectious personality and I will never forget her. RIP my friend. Can’t wait for the adventures in our next life together. Love you forever xo.

Celebrations

Leave a Reply

