Bye Bye Centennial, Hello New Life!

Life is what happens when you’re busy making plans. And boy do I have some serious plans…

PathAs my one year Corporate Communication & Public Relations program at Centennial College comes to an end, I look back at the past seven months with two emotions: pride and excitement.

A year ago today I was in a job that, although I loved, wasn’t satisfying the creative spirit burning inside of me. It was a big decision for me to quit and go back to school; I didn’t know if it would pay off, I didn’t know if I would like it, and I certainly didn’t know if it would make me happy.

Since January, I learned so much about myself that I never knew was in there. I discovered a new passion for writing, developed my love for event planning, and increased my social media presence tenfold.

As part of my program I will be doing my internship in Beijing, China. CHINA! I can’t even believe I have this opportunity. I am so crazy excited to experience different Communications practices and different workplace cultures – what an incredible, once-in-a-lifetime experience!

your career

Thanks to Centennial, I have so many new skills that will be instrumental to my new career path. I’m not sure exactly where this path is going, but I know I’m on the right one. I have never been more confident that this is where I’m meant to be.

Looking back, I am so proud of myself for trusting my instincts and following my heart. It was a tough decision for me, but often those are the most rewarding. If I had never left my job, I would never have discovered these new passions. And I am so excited to begin a new career and to see what else is coming my way. I know good things are near and I can’t wait to work hard, build up my resume and expertise, and become the Communications professional I know I can be.

Ashton Says: As cliche as it sounds, its true: when one door closes, another one opens. And I cannot wait to walk through this one…

Jobs

Leave a Reply

