Love From A Distance

Here I am on day 27 in Beijing; it’s almost been a month since I left Toronto for this amazing once-in-a-lifetime trip to Asia.

As grateful as I am for this opportunity and all the lessons I’ve learned already, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t starting to miss my friends and family. Although technology makes it incredibly easy to communicate, it’s not the same as being there in person. I can feel the distance between us all.

I miss the hugs, the laughs, and the general closeness.

20130827-204037.jpg
It’s weird though. Even though I’m literally on the other side of the world I can most definitely also feel the love, even from this distance. With every Facebook message, random iMessage chat, and every Skype date, I’m reminded how crazy blessed I am to have such amazing people in my life.

20130827-204004.jpg
I know everyone is rooting for me over here and they’re motivations are what keep me going. I know I’ll see everyone soon enough. And I’ll have so many stories to tell and so many stories to hear.

I hope everyone in the world can know the blessing of great friends and family. It is the biggest honour I could ever ask for.

Thank you for loving me from a distance.

Ashton Says: Life is nothing without the love of those around you. I’m grateful for you all every day.

In the words of movie version Maria Von Trapp, played by my idol, Julie Andrews, “Nothing comes from nothing, Nothing ever could, So somewhere in my youth or childhood, I must have done something good.

20130827-203918.jpg

2 thoughts on “Love From A Distance

  1. It won’t be long before you are home and can tell all your friends and family about incredible journey. You Go Girl! Xo Helene

Leave a Reply

